Sunday, June 29, 2014

2014 Literary Award Winners

Ninth Letter is pleased to announce the winners of our second annual Literary Awards competition!
Rachel Goldman is the winner in Fiction for her story "Steps."
Anders Carlson-Wee is the winner in Poetry for his poems "Dynamite" and "The Low Passions."
Nick Neely is the winner in Creative Nonfiction for his essay "The Book of Agate."
Ian Haight is the winner in Translation for his translation of "Poem Given to a Nun While Staying in a Taoist Monastery," by the 16th-century Korean poet Nansorhon.
The winning works will be published in our Fall/Winter 2014-15 issue, forthcoming in December.
Our judges also accorded some other honors. In fiction, Sean Pessin's story "Holy Basil" was selected as runner-up; Emily Cole's poem "10 Years Later, the Cowardly Lion Surveys his Territory" was selected as runner-up in poetry; and two runners-up were named in creative nonfiction: Mary Kudenov's essay "Memory of Light" and Elizabeth Hoover's essay "Smudge."
Congratulations to all our winners and runners-up!
Many thanks to all who entered, and thanks to our judges Matt Bell, Traci Brimhall, Ander Monson, and G. J. Racz.

Monday, June 02, 2014

Featured Writer: Patrícia Portela

New at from Patrícia Portela's novel Going up not North!